CFP: Feminist Theory and Science: The Inspiring and Tangled Relationship, University of Porto, Oct. 24-26, 2019 (deadline: Jun. 20, 2019)

Special Symposium on Feminisms in Science

The list of suggested topics to explore includes (but is not limited to):

Feminist thought as a vehicle of interdisciplinarity in the reflection on science

Feminist approaches as an important factor in reshaping the contemporary philosophy, sociology, and the history of science

Have feminisms changed science due to their creative subversive power? How?

How particular feminist theories have transformed scientific disciplines?

The impact of feminist approaches on research priorities and methodology

Feminist perspectives in science: their specificity and consequences

Feminist thought and cognitive turns in the reflection on science

The cognitive perspective of feminist theories of science: traditions to be developed and modes to be constructively modified

Keynote speakers of the conference: Mieke Boon (University of Twente), Sabina Leonelli (University of Exeter), Dafne Muntanyola-Saura (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona), Nico Orlandi (University of California, Santa Cruz), and others


Mind, Language and Action Group / Institute of Philosophy / Faculty of Arts and Humanities of University of Porto (Local organizer)

The Institute of Philosophy and Sociology / Polish Academy of Sciences (Co-organizer)

Institute of Philosophy / Cardinal Stefan Wyszyński University (Co-organizer)

Avant Project / Centre for Philosophical Research (Main organizer of the conference series)

Organizing Committee: 

Sofia Miguens (University of Porto) – Chair of the Organizing Committee, Marcin Miłkowski (Polish Academy of Sciences) – Chair of the Organizing Committee of the Conference Series, Krystyna Bielecka (University of Warsaw), Anna Ciaunica (University of Porto), Luca Corti (University of Porto), Aleksandra Derra (Nicolaus Copernicus University), Klara Łucznik (University of Plymouth), Przemysław Nowakowski (Polish Academy of Sciences), Michał Piekarski (Cardinal Stefan Wyszyński University), Filip Stawski (Avant Project), Manela Teles (University of Porto), Georg Theiner (Villanova University) , Marcin Trybulec (Maria Curie-Sklodowska University), Witold Wachowski (Polish Academy of Sciences) – Conference Coordinator

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.